God teaching me learning, Uncategorized

The Fly that needed Jesus!

As I was putting on my makeup yesterday I heard the buzzing of a fly.  It was a long buzzzzz…an annoying buzz… a buzz that made me get up out of my chair to see what was going on.  Actually, I hate a fly and I was going to put it out of its’ misery.  What I didn’t know was that we had a spider web behind my window shutter and the fly… was … caught!  Caught in the web!   At first I thought.. eewww…gross, gotta clean the windows!   I then became entranced with what happened next.  It was like watching a episode on animal planet.  I know this may sound crazy, and maybe you’re thinking that I have too much time on my hands,.. maybe I do.. …?…..NO! I don’t! I just got side tracked for a minute, but seriously.… Have you EVER watched a spider after they catch their prey?  It’s kind of freaky, the smarts of a spider…  they’re rather patient too.  They spin a web, and wait for something to fall into it.  I watched this spider after the fly had gotten trapped, it was trying to break free!  It was moving all around, and I thought well it’s going to fly out of the trap and then annoy me, better get ready to swat!  As I waited I watched the spider begin to spin under the fly and all around.  I thought, What in the world is that spider doing?  Taunting the fly..?? maybe?  ….

Nope.. the spider was busy spinning a backup plan in case it escaped it would fall into another trap!  Then it connected to the two major webs holding the fly into position and it begin to move up and away from the fly,… pulling it tighter and tighter until the fly STOPPED buzzing.

After waiting for the fly to stop buzzing, the spider would climb down toward the fly to inject it’s poison.  But, nope,.. the little fly kept buzzing, and the spider climbed back upward, holding tight till the fly gave up hope.  This happened several times.  It was like a tug-of-war.  Finally, the fly gave up, and stopped buzzing.. and just like that, the spider had lunch.

As I thought about this it reminded me of sin and satan.  Here we are, little flies in the world, we get caught in a web, and there’s satan trying to have a back up plan to catch us yet again!  Maybe it’s a WEB of lies,…one lie leads to the next lie, which leads to the next…… on and on.. it goes.  Many of us give up HOPE, we try to control things in our own strength and we end up getting caught,… AGAIN.. over and over!

In that moment, I wanted to free the little fly… but I didn’t.  The poor thing, helpless,… he needed a friend, …

The fly needed JESUS!

When Jesus enters in…. he sets things STRAIGHT!  He is our chain breaker!  He breaks the chains (webs) of sin, lies, and destruction.  He is the HOPE giver!

If you are suffering today, in your web of sin…..

Cry out to The LORD!  Only HE can save, restore, and redeem!!!  Stop falling for the schemes of the enemy.  Stop trying to do it YOUR WAY!  You’re just going to get caught again.

I shared with a group a ladies this week Psalm 61!  I thought it was so fitting for this story! May it encourage you! Lead me to the ROCK that is HIGHER!

 

1 Hear my cry, O God;
    listen to my prayer.

From the ends of the earth I call to you,
    I call as my heart grows faint;
    lead me to the rock that is higher than I.
For you have been my refuge,
    a strong tower against the foe.

I long to dwell in your tent forever
    and take refuge in the shelter of your wings.
For you, God, have heard my vows;
    you have given me the heritage of those who fear your name.

Increase the days of the king’s life,
    his years for many generations.
May he be enthroned in God’s presence forever;
    appoint your love and faithfulness to protect him.

Then I will ever sing in praise of your name
    and fulfill my vows day after day.

 

b-spiderandfly1

b-spiderandfly2

Leave a Reply

