Family

Thankful

There really aren’t enough days in November to say Thank you… to a God that loves me unconditionally.  I believe it is a good practice to be “Thankful” daily.  There are many times in my life when… I feel, depressed, overwhelmed, overworked, & unappreciated.  I’m sure many of you have those same feelings.  I usually have myself a pity party.. .that really nobody wants to attend.. & that makes me even more depressed!   So, then I turn to focus on the positive in my life.  What are those things that I’m most thankful for?  What has God blessed me & our family with?  I begin with the smallest of things .. like, food on  the table.  That may seem small to me, but,.. to some.. that is BIG.  Then I find a new perspective of what I should be thankful for.  God has blessed me & my family tremendously through out the years.

For years as a child my family would gather together at my grandparents house for some good ole’ Turkey & Dressing.  Then, seriously… we would eat the leftovers for days.. until we were SICK of Turkey.  I loved my  Mema’s dressing! It was the BEST!  It was also a family secret recipe .. That I have! I remember one year while Matt was coaching football, we were still in the playoffs & we lived 3 hrs from my Grandparents home.  Sadly, we weren’t able to go home for Thanksgiving, but, Mema… came to the rescue!  The coaches & their families decided to have lunch together & I offered to make the Turkey & Dressing.  It was my first time making it, & It was Yummy!!  I was so Proud of having such a treasured recipe & honored to be the first Grand to make it! 😉

In August of this year, sadly,  my Mema lost her battle with cancer.  But, she is in Heaven celebrating with Jesus & especially Papa!  Last Thanksgiving we were at my Momma & Daddy’s for Thanksgiving & she was there,.. she showed us all… how she made her famous dressing!  I treasure that time spent with her that day. I’m so THANKFUL that I was able to be home with her & my precious family!   I don’t have any pictures.. because I was soaking up… every moment! I did manage to find one from Christmas.. so I shall share….

I’m very Thankful for all the things that I learned from that sweet woman!  Although, I never could get the hang of crocheting… I DO know how to cook dressing.. & many other famous recipes that she passed down.  I will miss her today… 
but, I am Grateful for the many years spent with her & Papa.  It was Mema who helped create my love for cooking & feeding others.  She truly had a “Martha’s”  heart! 
I will take what she instilled in me,.. & will pass it on to my children.  Last night, the girls & I were in the kitchen steady cooking some of the “sweets” for today’s meal.  I couldn’t help but smile as I watched the girls stirring the pot & getting all excited about what they made.  Mema would be so proud! 
I pray that each of you have a Wonderful Thanksgiving Day!  Take time to reflect, & thank God for all that He’s done for you & through you! 

1 thought on “Thankful”

Leave a Reply

