Uncategorized

Menu Plan

I REALLY do LOVE Menu planning! It makes my life so much easier! I don’t wonder around all day thinking “What shall I fix tonight?”. Many of you have “been there & done that”.. so you know what I’m talking about!
I don’t have to think but, once a week, & GET THIS.. I ONLY HAVE TO GO THE THE GROCERY STORE ONCE A WEEK & SOMETIMES 1 EVERY 2WKS!!! How cool is that?! Now, who loves the grocery store?!! I must confess, I do not!

Here’s what I do.. usually one Sat. or Sun. I sit down & plan out that week.. what I’m going to cook. I have made my VERY own little notebook with the help of this AWESOME site! www.organizedhome.com I love it! It has all sorts of print outs that are FREE, like shopping list, monthly menu calendars, weekly menu planners,house work list, pantry inventories list… it goes on & On!! Now, I have no excuse for not being organized!

I LOVE the pantry inventory list! It encourages you to GET in that pantry and LOOK to see WHAT you HAVE! Oh, .. the times I buy something.. and then slide it in the pantry for it to SIT there for months! lol!! You know what I’m talking about! 😉

I plan out my menu, then I make a shopping list for EXACTLY what I need to get! You would NOT believe how much money you will save by doing this! I check my pantry FIRST, to see if I already have what I need. Then the list begins!
When I get to the store… “I ONLY BUY WHAT IS ON MY LIST!” It helps to NOT have the kids OR the Husband with you .. when you shop! LOL!

I come home & put my groceries up & stick to my menu. Now, sometimes.. like this week, I had to change some things around. I don’t freak out if this happens.. I go with the flow, change it & move on.

I have also noticed that my family is much happier. They love the fact that I fix special meals just for them to enjoy! I try to find meals that are “kid friendly” which is sometimes hard to do. I found one this week that I fixed on Sat. that the kids really enjoyed. I.. for the FIRST time ever.. cooked Thai Food!

I fixed Pork Satay with a hot & spicy Peanut Butter sauce to dip it in. (I should note.. that the kids did not like the sauce.. oh,.. but Momma did!) We also took the meal time to educate our children about where Thai food comes from. Matt got the globe & we showed them how far it was from home & we talked about the missionaries there. It was great family time!!!!! You guys have GOT to do this!!

Here is the recipe, I hope you enjoy!

Pork Satay

1/3 cup reduced-sodium soy sauce

2green onions, sliced

3Tbsp. brown sugar

3Tbsp. minced fresh cilantro

3Tbsp. Thai chili sauce

2 Tbsp. minced garlic

1 lb. pork tenderloin, cut into 1/4-in slices

1/3 cup creamy peanut butter

3 Tbsp. hot water

2 tsp. lime juice

*In a small bowl, combine the 1st seven ingredients. Set aside 1/4 cup for dipping sauce. Pour remaining sauce into a large resealable plastic bag; add the pork. Seal bag & turn coat; refrigerate for 30 mins.

*Drain & discard marinade. Thread pork slices onto 20 metal or soaked wooden skewers. Place skewers on a greased baking pan. Broil 3-4 min. on each side of until meat juices run clear.

*Meanwhile, for sauce, combine peanut butter and water in a small bowl until smooth. Stir in lime juice and reserved soy sauce mixture. Serve with skewers.

My Menu this week:

Monday: Chicken & Dumplings, salad, biscuits

Tuesday: Parmesan Cornflake chicken, Broccoli & cheese, rice

Wednesday: Lima Beans, Rice, ham (fixed in crock pot!.. Easy Peasy for church night)

Thursday: Leftovers

Friday: Pizza with friends!

7 thoughts on “Menu Plan”

  1. You are truly a mommy after my own heart! We thrive on menu planning and this summer has been so out of whack, that I cannot wait to get back into our regular routine.
    Thanks for the informational website tidbit. Can't wait to go check it out!

  2. This girl could take some lessons from you…..I am one of those that runs to the store numerous times a week and is always saying “What should I make tonight”

    This recipe sounds great….I will be trying it out. BTW, love your new bloggy look…..SO ADORABLE!!!

  3. Hey girl…LOVE that recipe! I have definitely got to get better at meal planning!! 🙂

    Just wanted to see if you have seen Laine Ferrill's new little boy. They are adopting again. She has a picture of him and he looks just like your little Faith!!! At least he looks a lot like her to me. You should check it out!!!

    Gotta run….I just had to tell you about their new little boy!!! Hope you have a great week!!!
    Miss you!!
    Buffi

  4. Love this post! I'm so excited about checking out the website. I am doing much better with meal planning but need organization in several other areas! I like the recipe…I'll have to try it out sometime. I'd love to have a fun food night at our house, too. Love that idea!

  5. I too LOVE to meal plan! I have been doing it for about a year now and I love it! I have to go shopping on average every other week (sometimes I have to go two weeks in a row than not go for almost three weeks). It saves a lot of $ for us plus I know exactly what we are having and when. It also lets me plan a night out (which we have limited to only one supper and one lunch out weekly and that includes McDs). You are going to LOVE it and you wil find that over time you too wll be saving some $ !!!

    And please, keep up with the recipes posting! I can always use a good recipe (and one that fits our budget as well).

    Hope all is well and again, THANK YOU for the blog redo!

Leave a Reply

