Facebook, God teaching me learning

Facebook & Marriages

&

Who doesn’t love facebook? It is a great way to communicate with friends and family from “out of town” or “in the same town”. I have been able to re-connect with friends from high school that I haven’t spoken with since Graduation. I can communicate with family from out of town, & since I was a Coaches’ wife at one time..we moved to a lot of great places & I’ve been able to re-connect with friends who I haven’t spoken with in years!! It’s Great! I love to find out about.. where my friends are now?, Who they married?, How many kids they have? & as an added bonus.. I can Even see pictures of what they look like now! Pretty cool huh? Yeah, thought so. It has even motivated me to exercise more & lay off a few of those cookies! And, OMGoodness… it’s like high school all over AGAIN! LOL!
But, just as a coin has two sides… so does facebook! Not that there is anything wrong with the program… just the people who are members.. like us! I read this Great Article in a “Sharing The Victory” magazine which is published by FCA. You can read it
Here. Please, if you get a chance to read it… DO!!! It’s a must read for Husband, Wives & Singles! (Pretty much everybody 😉 ) After some recent events in my life , as well as some friends of mine… Matt & I were just talking about how the devil has his clutches in marriages today. He will do anything and everything he can to split up a family.. FAMILY.. F-A-M-I-L-Y! Yes, that’s right , the word got bigger.. cause you see.. it doesn’t matter to him whether you attend church regular or not.. he just detests anything to do with FAMILY! Why… because Family was designed by GOD!! Not him.. therefore, his mission is to kill, steal and destroy, not just lives and souls… but, marriages!!! Consider it on .. his “HIT LIST” if you will. How do you & facebook have anything to do with this, you ask? Let me tell you how.
Consider a scenario if you will:…

~ wife doesn’t get much attention at home with her husband.
~wife finds internet, facebook, & connects with friends both those she knows.. And those she doesn’t know.
~wife finds old buddy (who happens to be a GUY) from high school.
~ wife begins to chat, send messages, send virtual gifts, etc. etc… to said friend from high school.
~husband finds out, complains, pitches a FIT about new friend.. Threatens.. Makes demands for the friendship to end! uh…..NOW!
~wife refuses.. thinks husband is TOO Sensitive, over bearing, Controlling, Selfish, Demanding, and begins to think to herself.. “Why did I marry him? He won’t let me have ANY friends!!!!!!”
~wife talks with said friend from internet about controlling hubby! BIG, BIG, NO-NO!!
~problems arise in marriage, affects their children in school, mom & dad fight ALL THE TIME!
~husband is emotionally un-attached to wife.
~wife is emotionally attached to said friend from high school.
~both husband & wife agree to part ways…….For good!
Pretty sad scenario.. right? It’s happening people! Every day!! This sort of thing is happening. Husbands & wives are losing their roles in their relationships with their spouses and finding that role in another relationship outside of the marriage. This is the biggest danger that can EVER take place in a marriage!
Just because you were big buds in school, and were able to “hang-out” and talk the way you wanted to with each other then… doesn’t mean that you can do so.. NOW. Remember who you are first, a Christian. The MOST important relationship that you have is the one with your Lord and Savior! The second one.. is the one with your spouse! The one GOD chose you to be with for the rest of your life. You know, the one the devil is trying to fool you into thinking “he’s not the one”. Yeah, that’s the one!
We’ve seen this so many times in other people’s relationships. If only we ALL knew the special key or formula to COMMUNICATION.. I think we might be better off.
Remember what Paul wrote to Timothy in 1Timothy 6:20
“guard what has been entrusted to your care, Turn away from godless chatter and the opposing ideas of what is falsely called knowledge, which some have professed and in so doing have wandered from the faith.”
“Guard what has been entrusted to your care”…. WOW.. to me.. that would be my husband, my family! They were given to me by God, and entrusted to me.. to nourish, take care of. If a baby has no nourishment what ends up happening to it? Eventually, Death. If I’m not nourishing my family, what do you think will happen to them? Eventually, Death.. of my family unit. Alarming?.. I hope so.

“…Turn away from godless chatter and the opposing ideas of what is falsely called knowledge, which some have professed and in so doing have wandered from the faith.”

To “turn away” means to do a 360! If that means you should end a friendship…then DO IT! The bible also states.. that if your right hand causes you to sin.. to cut it off. Matt 5:30 (Now, don’t go run and get something.. just yet…. That isn’t in a literal sense.) If you have a ungodly relationship with anyone.. you should discard it. It isn’t healthy and will cause you to “wander from the faith”.
Also remember Proverbs 12:26
“A righteous man is cautious in friendship”
I hope that these truths are speaking to you today.. or maybe to you to Share with another friend. Whatever the case may be… I want you to know, God made Families. Are they all perfect?.. NO! I will be the first to tell you that Matt & I have been to more marriage seminar’s to “shake a stick at”. I would like to say that after each one.. I loved my husband more than anything in the world.. NOT, sometimes.. I could still pinch his head off! But, one thing rings true to us both… we were meant to be together.. NO matter what. Times are tough, & marriages are TOUGHER! Can I get a Amen?! I will close with one final verse.. one that applies to this world today & with our marriages today..

Do not CONFORM any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what GOD’S will is his good, pleasing and perfect will.
Romans 12:2

In His Love,
Keisha

7 thoughts on “Facebook & Marriages”

  1. Wow, Keisha! That is all I kept saying as I was reading through your post. Very powerful and very important message here!!! Thanks for taking the time to share this post….very important point that we all need to sit back and examine!!!

  2. GREAT post keisha!!! It is SO TRUE!!! We have had several friends struggle in their marriages too…and I tell you…NONE of us can be too careful! We should ALWAYS be aware of the schemes of the enemy, and be on guard. Thanks for bringing attention to this. YOU GO GIRL!!!!
    Love ya,
    Buffi

  3. You are right on! I started connecting with some friends from high school on fb, and can definitely see how a problem could start. It’s so easy to fall into.

  4. thanks Keisha for this……..It hit home with me so much as you know what all has gone on in my life…I love you guys so much and you mean the world to me..I don't know what I would have done without you during my trying times….

Leave a Reply

