Uncategorized

Started a New Study

Have you ever been at a point in your life when you were Completely Content with your money, time & possessions? Have you ever wanted to learn how to be content? Well, recently God has really been working on me in this area of my life.
Matt & I are Very blessed. We have so much compared to many people & yet at times I still want MORE! Getting Faith was not the ONLY reason God had us fly to China. God really opened my eyes to a lot of things while there. And, if you’re reading this and have been to China… I encourage you to take a look at your trip, pray and seek God as to what he’s trying to teach you, because I am sure there are Many more things than receiving our precious gifts that God wants us to see. While I was in China, I saw first hand how people were using what they were given.. EVERYTHING they were given… even down to boiling the chicken bones later for chicken soup! If they were given a plot of land.. they used it to farm.. even in the CRACKS beside the road! They tended to it & harvested it for their families to eat & to sell. They were not buying fine clothes or cars.. they were… “SURVIVING”… people!
For awhile now I have really been thinking about my Legacy. What will I leave behind? What qualities will I pass down? Have I studied enough? Have I invested enough for my children, or have I spent it all away? I make side notes in my Bibles in hopes that one day.. my children’s children could be reading it, I try to teach my children the ways of God and discipline them in a Godly way. First I want God to look at my life and say.. “Well Done!” But, secondly I want my grandchildren to look at my life and say “Wow, she was His Faithful servant!” What an accomplishment! What a Compliment!

The other day I started a new study…

6906X: 40 Minute Studies: Money and Possessions

40 Minute Studies: Money and Possessions

By Kay Arthur & David Arthur

This morning in my reading, God revealed something to me..
the passage was from 1 Chronicles 29: 17-20, 26-28
What was amazing was the fact that I had ALWAYS heard about “Wise King Solomon” “The richest man who ever lived”. But never had it occurred to me How he had all these things. I knew it was given by God, but I never thought of his father King David. It was because of a Faithful Father & his obedience to the Lord, that Solomon had acquired these things. In verse 19 in the very last sentence David (King Solomon’s Father) asked God …
“give to my son Solomon a perfect heart to keep Your commandments, Your statutes, and to do them all, and to build the temple, for which I have made provision.”
All that Solomon had was passed down from his father, his legacy. David was obedient & prayed for his son to be obedient. David realized earlier in verse 16
O Lord our God, all this abundance that we have provided to build You a house for Your holy name, it is from Your hand, and all is Yours.”
All that he had was from God, & was given back to Him.
This struck me about how & what I was doing with the money, time, & talents God has given me..?? Am I using them wisely? Have I TRULY realized that Everything that I have is from God? This home, land, money.. was passed down Not only from Faithful Family members but it goes much deeper than that.. It’s God’s legacy… It all belongs to Him! He provided for my every need before I was even created! How amazing is that?! And, how sad is it that I might think for one minute, that ALL I own and have is from My hands?! Whoa! Makes you think huh?

5 thoughts on “Started a New Study”

  1. Keisha,What a powerful post. I try often to remind myself that the smallest of blessings is from our Savior. It is through those reminders that He keeps us humble. We are and have nothing without Him. Much love,OhildaJames 1:17 “Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.”

  2. Wonderful post. I was just thinking about this today and thanking God for his blessings. It is so easy to get sidetracked and forget what life is really about…glorifying God.

  3. Wonderful post, Keisha! I am thankful to have read this at the start of my day for something to really think about.It does all indeed belong to Him. Every penny we have.I remember how humbled I was on our trips to China and seeing how the people there lived. And do you want to know the most important lesson I learned there??….these people were happy…always smiling. They have nothing(material wise) yet they were much happier than most of us.Thanks for sharing this, Keisha!

  4. OH Keisha…this is such a wonderful post..so wise…and very true….really makes me think as well! Being a good steward is a constant “work in progress”! Thank you for these insights..and thought prompts! I will be doing some soul searching today as I remember your words, my friend!Have a most blessed day in the Lord!Love,Denise

  5. wow…looks like an amazing study!! Yes…we find ourselves thinking that way too!!! We SO want to be wise with what we have…the way the world is going…we are going to have to get MUCH MUCH wiser in order to survive! Thanks for sharing!Love ya,Buffi

Leave a Reply

